Healthy Living IDD Recipes & Meal Prep Tips

Sensory-Friendly Foods:

Even while getting individuals with disabilities to consume their vegetables can be challenging, it’s not impossible with a bit of imagination. Here are some pointers for encouraging individuals to eat their vegetables:

  • By incorporating them into activities or hiding them in delectable dishes, you may make eating vegetables enjoyable and stimulating.
  • Engage them in the cooking process so they may witness how enjoyable and simple it is to prepare healthy food.
  • Set a good example for them by consuming a wide range of vegetables.
  • Even if they don’t seem to be interested, have patience, and keep introducing fresh vegetables to them. They might change their minds with enough time and exposure.
  • Recipes with hidden vegetables are a terrific way to add more nutrients to their diet.

The Best Vegetables for Food Coverup:

Some vegetables work well in recipes that call for hidden vegetables. 

Here are some of the top ones:

Grated carrots can be added to practically any recipe, from mac and cheese to pasta sauce. They’re also a fantastic method to give baked products more moisture and sweetness

Pancakes, waffles, muffins, and bread may all be made with grated zucchini. It’s also excellent for adding heft to recipes with ground beef, such as meatloaf and hamburgers.

You may add spinach to sauces, soups, and smoothies. Additionally, it can be used as a taco, burrito, or enchilada filling.

Hidden Vegetable Soup Recipes:

Instant Pot Tomato Soup – https://www.pressurecookrecipes.com/instant-pot-tomato-soup/

Instant Pot Cauliflower Potato Soup: https://www.pressurecookrecipes.com/instant-pot-cauliflower-potato-soup/

Instant Pot Broccoli Cheddar Soup: https://www.pressurecookrecipes.com/instant-pot-broccoli-cheddar-soup/

Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Soup: https://aussiehomecook.com/pumpkin-and-sweet-potato-soup/

Cashew Carrot Ginger Soup: https://thelittlestcrumb.com/cashew-carrot-ginger-soup/

Appetizers with Hidden Vegetable Recipes:

Cauliflower Hummus: https://www.healthyseasonalrecipes.com/cauliflower-hummus/

Zucchini Chips: https://www.delicioustable.com/zucchini-chips/

Avocado Pasta Salad: https://www.servedfromscratch.com/avocado-pasta-salad/

Cheesy Zucchini Bread: https://theforkedspoon.com/cheesy-zucchini-bread/

Hidden Vegetable Meals for Dinner Recipes:

Healthy Sloppy Joes: https://www.healthyseasonalrecipes.com/healthy-sloppy-joes/

Turkey Meatloaf Cupcakes: https://www.bakingbeauty.net/turkey-meatloaf-cupcakes/

Creamy Garlic Chicken Pasta: https://cookingandcussing.com/creamy-garlic-chicken-pasta/

Healthy Baked Chicken Nuggets: https://www.servedfromscratch.com/healthy-baked-chicken-nuggets/

Healthy Turkey Burgers with Spinach: https://sugarandsnappeas.com/healthy-turkey-burgers-with-spinach/

Zucchini Fritters Pancakes: https://easyhomemaderecipes.ca/zucchini-fritters-pancakes/

Crockpot Veggie Loaded Beef Chili: https://www.twopinkpeonies.com/crockpot-veggie-loaded-beef-chili/

Ricotta Roasted Red Pepper Pasta: https://www.throughthefibrofog.com/ricotta-roasted-red-pepper-pasta/

Sweet Treats with Vegetables:

Sweet Potato Rolls: https://happykitchen.rocks/sweet-potato-rolls/

Chocolate Cake Zucchini: https://www.whiskingwolf.com/cakes-and-cupcakes/chocolate-cake-zucchini/

Triple Chocolate Chickpea Brownie Bites: https://inspiredepicurean.com/triple-chocolate-chickpea-brownie-bites/

Pumpkin Zucchini Muffins: https://temeculablogs.com/pumpkin-zucchini-muffins/

Banana Carrot Oatmeal Muffins: https://www.sungrownkitchen.com/banana-carrot-oatmeal-muffins/

Drinks & Smoothies with Hidden Vegetables:

Blueberry Broccoli Smoothie: https://nourishplate.com/blueberry-broccoli-smoothie/

Spinach Smoothie: https://anyreasonvegans.com/how-to-make-a-delicious-spinach-smoothie/

Snack Ideas for Crunchy, Chewier Foods:

  • Beef or turkey jerky
  • Pretzels
  • Flavored or buttery crackers
  • Cheese crackers
  • Animal crackers
  • Apple slices
  • Chips – sweet potato or veggie straws
  • Carrot sticks or baby carrots
  • Celery sticks (ants on a log)
  • Snap peas
  • Dried banana chips
  • Nuts – almonds, peanuts, walnuts, cashews
  • Trail mix with nuts, seeds, and dried fruit
  • Granola – dry with yogurt or fruit
  • Larabars or Lara bites 
  • Dried fruits – raisins or cranberries

Snack Ideas for Soft, Smoother Foods:

  • Bananas
  • Peanut butter & jelly sandwich
  • Yogurt tubes or cups
  • Applesauce
  • Mashed potatoes  
  • Mashed sweet potatoes 
  • “Smoothie in a tube”
  • Oatmeal with cooked, soft fruit
  • Cottage cheese
  • Pudding
  • Macaroni and cheese 
  • Refried beans with some melted, shredded cheese
  • Chicken salad
  • Egg salad
  • Meatloaf bites

Meal Prep Tips:

Keeping track of your nutrition can be difficult, particularly when you’re busy. Whether you are disabled or caring for someone who is, meal preparation may be the best solution for you. This is because meal planning enables you to become more organized and effective while also improving your health with wholesome and well-balanced food!

Dietary Intake & Disability

Anyone’s health can be made or broken by nutrition, but if you have a disability, it may be even more important. A balanced diet rich in nutrients can help you live longer as well as completely or partially reverse a disability.

Eating poorly can cause health issues like cancer, hypertension, obesity, renal disease, and cardiovascular disease.

Advantages of a Nutritious Diet for Those with Disabilities:

1. Eating healthily will assist disabled adults and children manage their weight and feel more self-assured. A disability may restrict the quantity of physical activity that can be undertaken, making it even more crucial to avoid weight gain through poor eating habits.

2. You’re more likely to maintain happiness and a positive outlook when your nutrition is under control. Having a good mood is frequently associated with being healthier and can even speed up recovery.

3. Consuming protein-rich diets have been shown to increase dopamine and norepinephrine receptors, according to ClevelandClinic. These two substances in the brain affect your mood, drive, concentration, and focus.

4. If disabled people continuously eat healthful meals, they can improve. To aid in your patients’ recovery from an illness or impairment, you don’t just need to provide them with medication. All forms of treatment depend heavily on diet and nutrition.

5. Consuming a diet full of the five food groups, Omega-3 fatty acids, and antioxidants is always a healthy decision.

Recognizing Your Disability’s Needs:

The most prevalent impairments are Down syndrome, ADHD, deafness, blindness, intellectual conditions, physical disabilities, and several mental health conditions. Disabilities can be of numerous different sorts and are highly diverse from each other.

For advice on a food strategy for feeding children or individuals with disabilities, consult a nutritionist or physician. You should not include any food components that might be harmful to their health.

The recipes listed below are simple and categorized by disability for both adults and children who are impaired.

Easy Recipes for Kids and Adults with Disabilities

1. Down syndrome:

Children with Down syndrome may struggle to eat themselves or have gastrointestinal issues. A 2021 study urged that parents gradually offer modern cuisine to their children with down syndrome. Try to feed individuals with modest, frequent meals.

For people with Down syndrome, high-fiber foods are preferable. Fresh fruit, vegetables, legumes, whole grains, and cereals are a few examples. For a completely soft diet, the foods can also be pureed or blended.

2. Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD):

Patients with ADHD struggle with the inability to pay attention, are hyperactive and exhibit impulsive behavior.

Choose extra lean meat, pork, poultry, seafood, eggs, beans, almonds, and soy products when preparing meals for ADHD patients. These foods are higher in protein and omega-3 fatty acids.

This study suggests that using omega-3 fatty acid supplements may help symptoms. Omega-3 fatty acids are abundant in fatty fish, seeds, nuts, olive oil, olives, and avocados.

3. Limited Mobility:

Patients who experience mobility limitations may find it difficult to walk, bend, run, grab objects, etc.

Berries, red apples, and leafy greens are just a few examples of antioxidant-rich meals that are excellent for improving agility. Consuming a diet rich in fruits and vegetables is also advised by studies to increase mobility and promote healthy aging.

Additionally, meals high in iron and omega-3 fatty acids are required to increase mobility. Be certain to seek out foods prepared with ingredients like avocado, oily seafood, and olive oil.

Find More Hydrated Foods:

Wheelchairs and beds are where most disabled persons spend their time. They are unable to ask for food or beverages on their own when they are in need.

Watermelon, peaches, apples, and other fresh fruits should always be nearby. Grapefruit juice has the highest likelihood of drug-nutrient interactions, so if they are on medication, try to steer clear of it. Consult your doctor if there are any products that could affect the way your medication works.

Additionally, search for more replenishing elements in the meals you order for them, including watercress, leafy green vegetables, tomatoes, celery, etc. Furthermore, all these vegetables are available in a delicious, healthy veggie salad that you may order.

Sources: https://www.marvinsden.com/blog/the-ultimate-guide-to-meal-prep-for-disabled-people
https://disabilityfeast.wordpress.com/recipes/
https://www.endeavour.com.au/media-news/blog/10-easy-no-bake-recipes-designed-for-people-with-disability
https://www.tbqtalks.com/cooking-while-disabled/
https://mykidslickthebowl.com/hidden-veggies/
https://theantijunecleaver.com/hidden-veggie-recipes/
https://specialneedsmomsquad.com/sensory-friendly-foods/
https://www.5dollardinners.com/lunchbox-ideas-for-your-sensory-or-anxious-child/
https://www.culikid.org/blog/2022/5/3/sensory-friendly-foods-snacks

Author

Yaren Ay

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: